we’ve suffered enough

I wish I had the energy to write about last night’s DMZ, but I really don’t (mostly because I was there). It’ll have to wait until tomorrow.

Instead I’ll just briefly mention an album that I’ve been listening to on repeat pretty much all this week: Rise and Doug‘s Tanzwa Nekutambura (We’ve Suffered Enough). I heard Rise and Doug completely by chance at this year’s Big Chill Festival (something else I need to write up before it’s a too-distant memory), and their gorgeously chiming guitars have been stuck in my head ever since. Rise Kagona was a member of the Bhundu Boys, the Zimbabwean band that brought ‘world’ music to the UK’s attention back in the eighties – there’s a pretty tragic interview with him here. It’s such a beautifully summery sound; I can’t listen to it without being transported to a sunny field in Herefordshire, dancing barefoot on the grass… Back to urban grittiness, and a full report of DMZ, tomorrow.

Leave a comment